Sterling Scholar

What is Sterling Scholar?

A Sterling Scholar is a high school senior who is publicly recognized and awarded for the pursuit of excellence in scholarship, leadership and citizenship in the State of Utah.  

The Deseret News and KSL Broadcast Group developed the program especially to focus attention on outstanding seniors in order to recognize them publicly as well as award cash scholarships and tuition waivers from participating institutions. The Sterling Scholar Awards Program seeks to commend and encourage excellence among all nominees. All nominees are judged equally on the basis of scholastic achievement without regard to religion, sex, political preference or national origin.

For more information:

Application Information

What you need to know

Applications will be judged based on evidence of scholarship (both overall and category), leadership, and community service/citizenship.  Applicants must have complied with the Northridge High School academic code of conduct, and they must meet the attendance participation policy and extracurricular competition eligibility requirements of Northridge High School.  (Refer to the Northridge High School policy handbook [planner/calendar] for details.)  After applications are reviewed, finalists will be required to participate in an interview. 

Students are allowed to apply for more than one category, but you can only be selected as the winner in one. 

 

 

Deadlines and Contacts

Each department has their own application and deadline. Please contact the appropriate person on this list for more information: 

English, Shannon Chamberlain, Room C-234, schamberlain@dsdmail.net

Math, Janae Howell, Room C-208, jhowell@dsdmail.net

Social Sciences, Kim Child, Room B-202, kchild@dsdmail.net

Science, Brittany Roberts, Room C-132, britroberts@dsdmail.net

World Languages, Marilyn Partridge, Room C-240, mpartridge@dsdmail.net

Computer Technology, Kael Harris, Room A-107, kaeharris@dsdmail.net

Skills and Technology, Kael Harris, Room A-107, kaeharris@dsdmail.net

Family and Consumer Sciences, Saralyn Lucas, Room C-231, slucas@dsdmail.net

Business and Marketing, Julie Banta, Room C-203, jbanta@dsdmail.net

Speech/Debate/Theater/Forensics, Jana Coates, Room B-110, jcoates@dsdmail.net; or Shannon Chamberlain, Room C-234, schamberlain@dsdmail.net

Vocal Performance, Jemay Marden, Room B-119, jmarden@dsdmail.net

Visual Arts, Kyle Guymon, Room A-104, kguymon@dsdmail.net

Instrumental Music, Jared Harding, Room B-121, jaharding@dsdmail.net

Dance, Amber McCord, Room C-230, amccord@dsdmail.net